Find an acquirer and get started accepting payments

To become a MasterCard merchant, simply contact an acquirer for a merchant account application

Merchant Service Provider Website Telephone Number
Applied Bank http://www.appliedbank.com/ (800) 947-1090
BancorpSouth Bank http://www.bancorpsouth.com/ (866) 571-0307
Bank of America Merchant Services (BAMS) https://merch.bankofamerica.com/ (855) 833-3614
Bank of Hawaii Merchant Services https://www.boh.com/small-business/card-processing.asp (800) 279-4195
BB&T http://www.bbt.com/business/banking/merchant-services/default.page (866) 238-2420
BBVA Compass http://www.bbvacompass.com/business/merchant-services/ (800) 266-7277
Capital One Merchant Services https://merchantservices.capitalonebank.com/ (866) 698-9848
Chase Paymentech Solutions https://www.chasepaymentech.com/ (800) 708-3740
Citi Merchant Services https://citi.merchantservicesbyfirstdata.com/ (855) 841-9657
Columbia State Bank http://www.merchantcardsvcs.com/ (800) 900-1946
Commerce Bank http://www.commercebank.com/commercial/merchant-services/ (800) 828-1629
Elavon http://www.elavon.com/ (866) 671-1583
First Citizens Bank and Trust Company, Inc. http://www.firstcitizensonline.com/ (800) 564-1774
First Data https://www.firstdata.com/en_us/home.html  (866) 382-8643
First Hawaiian Bank https://www.fhb.com/en/business/services/credit-card-processing/ (808) 844-4444
First Merit Merchant Services https://www.firstmerit.com/business/specialized-services/merchant-services/index.html (800) 572-6039
First National Bank https://www.firstnational.com/site/small-business/business-services/credit-card-processing.fhtml (800) 354-3988
First Savings Bank http://www.fsbbank.net/merchant-processing-services/  (877) 418-2669
Fulton Bank https://www.fultonbank.com/viewpage.asp?n=5154 (888) 849-6012
Global Payments https://www.globalpaymentsinc.com/us/ (877) 721-8558
Heartland https://www.heartlandpaymentsystems.com/ (888) 963-3600
HSBC http://www.us.hsbc.com/1/2/home/business/business-banking/cash-management/collections/merchant-services  (877) 472-2249
Huntington National Bank http://www.huntingtonmerchants.com/ (888) 330-4267
KeyBank National Association https://www.key.com/corporate/treasury-management/key-merchant-services.jsp (877) 330-2207
M&T Bank https://www.mtb.com/mtb/merchant-services/pages/merchant-services.aspx  (800) 724-7031
Meridian Bank http://www.meridianmerchant.com/  (877) 794-5729
Merrick Bank http://www.merrickbank.com/  (800) 267-2256
Moneris http://www.moneris.com/  (866) 666-3747
People's United Bank https://www.peoples.com/peoples/Main/Small-Business/Business-Services/Merchant-Card-Processing  (866) 635-8142
PNC https://www.pnc.com/en/small-business/payments-and-processing/pnc-merchant-services.html  (888) 562-2300
Priority Payment Systems https://www.prioritypaymentsystems.com/  (800) 334-5077
Santander http://www.santandermerchantservices.com/  (844) 233-7621
Simmons First National Bank http://www.simmonsfirst.com/  (866) 246-2400
SunTrust https://www.suntrustmerchantservices.com/  (888) 239-3584
Synovus https://banknbsc.synovus.com/?id=112  (800) 708-5687
TD Bank http://www.tdbank.com/small_business/merchant_services.html  (800) 348--4025
TIB - The Independent Bankers Bank http://www.mybankersbank.com/  (800) 367-7576
TSYS Merchant Solutions http://www.tsysmerchantsolutions.com/  (800) 354-3988
U.S. Bank Payment Solutions https://www.usbank.com/small-business/accepting-card-payments/index.html  (800) 432-9413
Vantiv http://www.vantiv.com/  (866)622-2833
Wells Fargo https://www.wellsfargo.com/biz/merchant/  (866) 380-9828
Westamerica Bank https://www.westamerica.com/  (800) 848-1088
Woodforest National Bank https://www.woodforest.com/  (877) 968-7962
WorldPay http://www.worldpay.com/us  (800) 859-5965
Zions Bankcorp http://www.zionsbancorp.com/  (855) 973-1659

Have this business information handy:

  • Your business type (Sole Proprietor, LLC/LLP, C-corporation, S-corporation, government, not for profit/tax-exempt)
  • Your industry
  • Business address
  • Employer Identification Number (EIN) or tax ID
  • Date the business was started
  • State where it was incorporated
  • Products/services sold
  • Annual transaction volume in dollars and the percentage that comes from eCommerce

You'll also need to provide the following personal information:

  • Address
  • Phone number
  • Date of birth
  • Social Security Number
  • Where you want your payments to be deposited: your bank name, routing number and checking account number

What to ask your acquirer

Do they have experience in your industry?

 It's always helpful to choose an acquirer that understands the needs of your specific industry.

Do they have the right tools and technology?

For example, does the acquirer support technology that makes transactions faster and more convenient at the point of sale?

Are they focused on security?

What are the acquirer’s policies and practices regarding fraud avoidance? Acquirers should have a clear and multi-faceted approach that involves technology.

How will they help you manage chargebacks?

Chargebacks usually happen when there is a customer dispute or an error or the financial liability typically falls on the merchant.